RealVNC mid banner careers
Advertisement: Cambridge Network mid banner
11 February, 2021 - 15:21 By Tony Quested

Three board changes at Cambridge Ahead

Cambridge Ahead, the business and academic member organisation which promotes sustainable growth and quality of life, has welcomed three new members to its operational board. 

Coming from academia, technology and business, the trio will bring significant expertise and knowledge to help shape the long-term sustainable growth of the Cambridge economy and the wider region.

Dr Richard Anthony is Bursar and Fellow of Jesus College, responsible for financial, operational and legal matters, and is also a member of the University of Cambridge Finance Committee. 

He trained as a chartered accountant in the City and previously worked in project and corporate finance in infrastructure and utilities, and in wealth management and private banking. He was brought up in Cambridge and is director of a family-owned construction business based in Ely. 

Kirsty Gill is Chief People Officer at Arm and sits on the Arm Executive Committee. Kirsty joined Arm in 2002 and has held various leadership roles in the People Group, becoming chief people officer in 2017. She graduated from Cambridge University and she and her family live, work and study in Cambridge. 

Christopher Walkinshaw is Group Director, External Relations and Communications, Marshall of Cambridge; he joined Marshall in 1983 and has worked in all of its operating businesses. 

Christopher is also a Non-Executive Director of Marshall Motor Holdings plc, a Trustee of Addenbrooke’s Charitable Trust, a member of the Joint Assembly of the Greater Cambridge Partnership, and a Member of Anglian Learning. 

He is a Board member of the East Anglian Reserve Forces and Cadets Association and chairs the Regional Employer Engagement Group. Christopher is Chairman of No.104 (City of Cambridge) Squadron of the RAF Air Cadets.

The new members join: Professor Roderick Watkins (Anglia Ruskin University), Duncan McCunn (Barclays), Rob Carter (RG Carter), Dr David Cleevely (Entrepreneur), Professor Andy Neely (University of Cambridge), Jeremy Newsum (Honorary Vice Chair, Cambridge Ahead), Alex Plant (Honorary Vice Chair, Cambridge Ahead), Harriet Fear (Chair, Cambridge Ahead) and Jane Paterson-Todd (CEO, Cambridge Ahead).

Nicholas Bewes, Howard Group; Andy Williams, AstraZeneca and Matthew Bullock, former Master St Edmund’s College, Cambridge, have retired from the board.

Newsletter Subscription

Stay informed of the latest news and features